Mirror, Mirror…

…or in my case, no mirror. That’s right, I’ve gone mirror-less. After years of using Pentax DSLR cameras I’ve switched to Olympus. Why? Weight was the deciding factor and the fact that Pentax doesn’t, in my opinion, produce a decent mirror-less camera that suits my style of photography. So I decided to switch to Olympus and I’m now the proud owner of the OM-D E-M1 along with the Olympus M.ZUIKO DIGITAL ED 12-40mm f/2.8

As luck would have it I’ve been pretty busy this week but I’ve managed to get out and get some test photographs both inside and outside in some varying weather conditions. First up from the hills above Colwyn Bay. Yellow Gorse is in full flower now and makes for a colourful photograph. Dark overcast sky though and occasionally I was getting the odd spot of rain on the windscreen of the car.

Gorse-S

Colours are good, the focus point was on the yellow gorse right in the centre of the picture. Moving inside now for two photographs taken at Christ Church, Bryn y Maer.

Christ-Church-S

Not sure about this one. Maybe it’s my unfamiliarity with the camera, I’d only had it a day, but all the windows, including the stained glass, look a bit over-exposed to me. A second photograph further up the aisle might give better results

Church-S

I’m a bit happier with this one but I still don’t think I’ve fully mastered the exposure settings yet. Moving on, it’s outside again. To the beach. What was looking like a good sunset, fizzled out and instead I got dark stormy clouds again. Don’t you just hate it when that happens? Luckily for me the beach is ten minutes away so nothing lost.

Reflections-S

The tide has only just gone out leaving the sand wet and shiny. Perfect for some reflections…and those dark clouds. There’s a storm brewing and I’m on the open and exposed beach. Time to head for home but not before one more close-up of the groyne marker.

Sunset-S

Still a bit of blue but those storm clouds are just to my left and moving a lot faster. It’s definitely time to get off the beach.

These are the first photographs with the new camera which does have an extensive control menu. All in all I’m pretty happy with the results I’ve gotten so far but I’ve still got a steep learning curve to master the camera and get the best from it. What’s that you say? RTFM. Of course I’m reading the manual, all 165 pages of it. So far I’m on page 6.

Enhanced by Zemanta
Over To You...

