Extra, Extra

This week I’ve been in the southern part of the Snowdonia National Park using Harlech as my base for exploring and trying out the Olympus OM-D E-M1 for landscape photography using the 12-40mm f2.8 lens. So there I am stopped in a layby, with hills either side of me, shooting down the valley when something extremely low and fast pops up from the valley below.

Typhoon

It came so fast I only had time to shoot off two photographs of this Typhoon as it shot over the top of me. Where had it come from? Where was it going to? Now I should have known better. I was so intent on testing the camera that I’d forgotten about the Mach Loop, a set of valleys, near to the towns of Dolgellau and Machynlleth, used regularly by military aircraft to practice low-flying.

I’d been meaning to visit the Mach Loop for some time but never got round to doing it…and here I was with no telephoto lens to get a closer picture. Isn’t it always the way with photography?

11 thoughts on “Extra, Extra

  1. loisajay June 15, 2014 / 12:21 am

    Thanks so much for linking my post. I really need to learn how to do this…..

    Like

    • Mike Hardisty June 15, 2014 / 11:21 am

      Thank you for taking the time to comment. It’s not too hard to link. You can download a plugin for your browser called Zemanta which will recommend posts to link to as well as highlight key words.

      Like

    • Mike Hardisty June 15, 2014 / 11:20 am

      I’m hoping they will be flying this coming week as I’m in the area of the Mach Loop again. Only this time I will be much better prepared.

      Like

      • pixels4u2013 June 15, 2014 / 11:47 am

        Save going all that way unless you want, if turn off the A5 to the Ogwen Valley car park (entry for Cwm Idwal) where you know and drive past it, about 100 yds you can park and have a wonderful vista of the whole valley. They are always flying the valley as part of their route.

        Like

      • Mike Hardisty June 15, 2014 / 12:11 pm

        I’m staying in a camp-site at Harlech, this week Richard. That’s why I was in the area. But thanks for the tip about the Ogwen Valley.

        Like

  2. pixels4u2013 June 15, 2014 / 5:57 am

    Yep, there they go frightening the sheep! They used to create havoc with our electronic telemetry stations as they liked to lock their guidance systems on to our radio sites that I managed around North Wales. Once near where you took this (I assume near Talyllyn) an old lady driving ahead of me drove into a ditch when a Tornado came over the rise and put on its afterburners. Still, practice makes perfect! Incidentally, I think it’s a much better image as it is, as it’s got the mountains to help tell the story.

    Richard

    Like

    • Mike Hardisty June 15, 2014 / 11:18 am

      When I first looked at it Richard I was thinking I wish I had my Sigma 150-500 with me. But the more I looked I realised I didn’t really need it, at least not for this one.

      Like

  3. Cindi June 16, 2014 / 10:28 am

    I agree with another commenter — I think this image is perfect as is, with the perspective of the mountains.

    Like

    • Mike Hardisty June 19, 2014 / 7:39 am

      Thanks Cindi. As I told Richard, the more I look at it the more I like it as is. Can’t explain why, but I just do.

      Like

Over To You...

