Between, In More Ways Than One

All this week we’ve been having some great sunsets. So last night seemed like a good time to go out again with the Olympus OM-D E-M1 and the 12-40mm f2.8 Pro lens for some more familiarity and testing. The more I experiment and use the new camera the easier I will find it when I need to take that all important photograph without thinking about what I need to set on the camera.

My favourite outdoor testing place is Talacre Beach and the abandoned lighthouse. Wide open beach, some good pools of water if the tide has just receded and the sunsets are generally pretty good. You’ve also got the lighthouse to add that little bit extra.

Talacre Sunset

I like to think that I’m a pretty considerate photographer. When I’m out with my camera I’m usually aware of my surroundings and the people around me. If someone is taking photographs, even with their phone, I won’t walk in front of them. I’ll either wait or go round the back. Just as equally I expect the same consideration. OK, you don’t always get it with your average smart phone user, they are usually blithely unaware that you are taking photographs, even though the camera is on a tripod. But hey, I don’t have an exclusive right to any view. It’s something you have to live with, especially in tourist hot-spots.

But you would expect someone with fancy Canon DSLR, filters and a tripod to have come consideration. Not this guy. He came onto the beach, almost as the sun had set, walked right past me and proceeded to start photographing all round the lighthouse. In effect “photo-bombing” He didn’t care that he was in my frame. Oh No! He was Mister Important and he was going to get that photograph no matter what.

Walk-Across

Sunset last night was about 21:40, so I was only waiting around for another ten minutes or so anyway before packing up to go home. Note that time. Anyway I left him on the beach busily snapping at everything in sight. As I walked through the now deserted beach car park I couldn’t resist taking this final photograph. “What goes around comes around”.

Stranded

Have you ever had anyone “Photo-Bombing” your photograph. Did you do anything about it? I’d love to hear from you.

10 thoughts on “Between, In More Ways Than One

  1. Emilio Pasquale June 23, 2014 / 8:09 pm

    That first shot is a real beauty! Love it! Just this past weekend I was at the beach, camera on tripod, just waiting for the sun to set, when a woman came by with her family and proceeded to pose the kids directly between me and the sun. I did nothing but wait for them to leave, probably because I’m a wimp and hate confrontation.

    Like

    • Mike Hardisty June 24, 2014 / 10:36 pm

      It’s happening more and more. I’m usually pretty patient but this guy just bugged me

      Like

  2. Helen C June 23, 2014 / 8:18 pm

    I enjoy reading this! 😉 I am glad that you still have your sense of humor after all of that. I think the worst one is when you ready to shoot someone walks past right in front of your camera.

    Like

    • Mike Hardisty June 24, 2014 / 10:39 pm

      The worst one I’ve had is a flat calm mirror lake with beautiful reflection of the snow on the mountains behind. Then someone goes and ruins it by throwing something in the lake

      Like

  3. Cindi June 23, 2014 / 8:49 pm

    That first image is gorgeous. And I laughed at your capture of the rude photographer. My photos are just with point-and-shoot cameras so haven’t had a photo-bomb of a really important image — but a London double decker bus photo-bombed my first shot of Big Ben last summer. It turned out to be one of my favorite images, though, so it was OK in the end! 🙂

    Like

  4. Mike Hardisty June 24, 2014 / 10:33 pm

    It’s nice when they work out Cindi. Personally I wasn’t that bothered because the sunset had almost finished and I’d got my photographs. But more and more we are seeing this sort of behaviour with no thought for others

    Like

  5. Tina Schell June 24, 2014 / 11:10 pm

    Lovely shot Mike and LOL about the dope with the tripod! I’ve been fortunate with other photographers. I do get annoyed when they see me making a composition, like what they see, and move in behind me for the same shot. That’s ALMOST as annoying if you ask me!!

    Like

    • Mike Hardisty June 25, 2014 / 6:51 pm

      I’ve had that as well. The problem with Talacre is reasonably accessible and in the summer you get loads of people there. Go in the winter time and you can spend all day on the beach and not see a souls but for the occassional dog walker.

      Like

  6. The Guat June 26, 2014 / 7:17 am

    Dude this is a very nice shot. Very!

    Like

    • Mike Hardisty June 26, 2014 / 7:47 am

      Thank you for taking the time to visit and comment on the photograph. I’m glad you like it

      Like

Over To You...

