Summer Lovin’–Yeah Right!

I hate summer. For photography, at least. If you’ve trekked somewhere with the backpack holding the camera, lenses, tripod, food and drink you’re usually hot and bothered by the time you get there. If you’re like me, pale skinned, you’ve got to the slap the lotion on as well and that just makes me feel icky and don’t forget the bugs which bite the hell out of you. So yeah, I hate summer. But what about you?

Shall I continue? Trying to get a decent landscape photograph in harsh sunlight is not my idea of fun either.

Llyn Peninsula

I like this photograph, mainly because of the foreground interest but I do think it lacks something, it just looks rather flat. Whereas the sunset offers more in my opinion.

Sunset

There’s detail in the shadows and the highlights, the photograph looks warm and not so harsh, more like I prefer.

Well that’s it for this week and I’d just like to finish by saying sometimes I wonder about the theme choices of WordPress. Summer Lovin’ give me a break….

4 thoughts on “Summer Lovin’–Yeah Right!

  1. pixels4u2013 July 30, 2014 / 9:13 pm

    Mike. Image 1 just needs a contrast boost. Image 2 is exceptional and needs no other PP.

    Like

    • Mike Hardisty July 31, 2014 / 6:49 am

      I should really get into the habit of adding more contrast. I usually add a little but obviously not enough.

      Like

  2. jensine July 30, 2014 / 9:14 pm

    stunning … my moving the lawn is a little different to these views

    Like

Over To You...

