Why You Should Always Look Behind You

So there I am on the beach last night waiting for sunset and then the moon to rise. A chance to capture the “super-moon and also get this Groyne Marker silhouetted against it. What is they say about the best laid plans? Oh! Sure the sun was setting. But I couldn’t see it. Not behind that cloud.

Ripples

If the light is great in front of you, you should turn around and see what it is doing behind you. – Jay Maisel

That seemed like good advice, even if the light isn’t great in front of you, turn around. You never know what might be behind you. On the beach the tide might be coming in. In the wild, it could be a grizzly or a tiger. Not that we see too many of them here in North Wales, but you never know?

Anyway back to the photograph. When I turned round from the non-existent sunset I could see the storm clouds building up. No chance of a super-moon last night, but the ripples in the sand make for a good texture. Time to get off the beach. That’s it from me this week……and don’t forget.

It’s Behind You….

5 thoughts on “Why You Should Always Look Behind You

  1. Richard August 13, 2014 / 9:05 pm

    Hi Mike, hope you are well. I saw it when I really would have preferred not to! Believe it or not my dog has very strange behaviour when there’s a super moon and I ended up sitting with him in the middle of the night (02.30). Although it was very, very bright it didn’t seem any closer and I couldn’t be bothered to get the camera out. As for the dog, well perhaps the dictionary definition of “lunatic” is true “Middle English: from Old French lunatique, from late Latin lunaticus, from Latin luna ‘moon’ (from the belief that changes of the moon caused intermittent insanity).

    Like

    • Mike Hardisty August 13, 2014 / 10:36 pm

      I was hoping to catch it as it came over the horizon, Richard. But no chance. One of our dogs was epileptic an often had fits during the night. I’d end up staying with him until he was fully recovered. It could be a right pain but necessary in case he fitted again. So I can understand where you’re coming from.

      Like

  2. sued51 August 14, 2014 / 11:09 am

    You may not have captured the moon, but you got a great pic anyway! And the quote is SO true…

    Like

    • Mike Hardisty August 14, 2014 / 3:12 pm

      Thank you for taking the time to visit and comment. I’ve lost count of the number of times I’ve looked behind me to see a far better photograph than the one I’m currently attempting to take

      Liked by 1 person

      • sued51 August 15, 2014 / 10:56 am

        That’s what is so wonderful about photography…you just have to open your eyes and look at things from every angle…there is beautiful EVERYWHERE! 🙂

        Like

Over To You...

