Is Humanity The Foundation Of Any Photograph?

As soon as I heard that this weeks challenge was Humanity I knew I would have difficulty with it. It’s just not in my nature to photograph people, and yet, I have captured this fleeting moment as a mother holds her child on a wind-swept beach here in north Wales.

Mother and child

It’s a moment in time shared with me, and captured by my camera, but as always I feel guilty about photographing people as though I was intruding on that fleeting moment.

Humanity is the foundation of any image. Then comes the journalism aspect, and then the photography. – Edmond Terakopian

Look closely at the photograph, what does it tell you? All too often we see kids running wild, parents on their phones, stuck in Facebook, never looking up. But to me this shows a mother who has interest in her child, sharing knowledge and providing protection.

 

2 thoughts on “Is Humanity The Foundation Of Any Photograph?

  1. Regina Martins September 18, 2014 / 8:13 pm

    I love your interpretation of the theme! Such a real photo.

    Like

    • Mike Hardisty September 18, 2014 / 9:52 pm

      Thank you Regina. It really was a grab shot, one of those moments, I saw the mother pick up the child, who had a shell in her hand and thought that someday I would be able to use it.

      Like

Over To You...

