Weekly Photo Challenge: Descent

For this weeks challenge I decided to head into Snowdonia and see if I could find a waterfall or river flowing down the side of the hill. You can be spoilt for choice but in the end I decided to settle for a photograph of the Afon Nant Peris as it descends from Pen-y-Pass through the Llanberis Pass to Llyn Peris

Afon Nant Peris

There are plenty of photo opportunities along the side of the river which is easily accessible from the A4086 which runs through the pass. Biggest problem is parking but yesterday the roads were quiet and I managed to stop at several of the well-known ones as you descend the pass.

Say I’m on a path along a stream, but what I really want to do is be down at the stream, not along the path. I go down along the side of the stream and I move up and down, back and forth, looking for, say, reflections. I’m watching the movement of the water. When I find something that pulls me in, something that I feel connected to—and usually it’s a quality of the light—then I open up the technical box… – Eddie Soloway

….and it pulled me in quite literally. I slipped and fell, had my own descent, in a manner of speaking. To cut a long story short smashed my camera into my face, bashed my knee and shin on a rock but today I got the all clear from A&E. I look like a one black-eyed Panda, the bruising is so bad. How did I end up doing this? I broke my cardinal rule by putting myself in harm’s way and I should know better. Wet rocks do not make a good platform for launching yourself off. I stepped onto the rock, my foot slipped and I ended up trying to rugby tackle another rock.

This photograph was taken before I had my fall.

8 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Descent

  1. Ana Perry November 6, 2014 / 6:48 pm

    I can’t count how many time that should have been me but I’ve been blessed. Hope your better. The photo was worth though, beautiful place

    Like

    • Mike Hardisty November 12, 2014 / 5:13 pm

      It can be quite desolate in the Llanberis Pass, even although it is popular with walkers and climbers. I’ve had a few scrapes in my time but none as bad as this one. Thank you for asking and I’m on the mend.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Ana Perry November 13, 2014 / 2:07 am

        Sounds like just the place I’d like to visit

        Like

  2. Cindi November 8, 2014 / 9:38 am

    A beautiful descent image … but what a terrible experience to have after getting it. I hope you’re feeling better now!

    Like

    • Mike Hardisty November 12, 2014 / 5:11 pm

      I’ve still got a black eye Cindi, but the swelling has gone down a lot. My leg is still a bit sore but I’ve no doubt that will ease off in the next few days as well. Thanks for asking.

      Like

  3. Maya November 14, 2014 / 1:18 am

    What a horrible ordeal but…what a fabulous photo!

    Like

Over To You...

