Weekly Photo Challenge: Angular

I was thinking about what photograph to show for the Weekly Photo Challenge and then this evening  I caught this amazing sunset on Ffrith Beach at Prestatyn. I had to share it.

Ffrith Beach sunset

Has it got a connection to Angular? Who cares? Look at that sunset it’s amazing and I almost missed it. I got down the beach at 2:45pm thinking that maybe I get something. But as the sun started to set behind Snowdon it wasn’t looking to good and I was thinking about packing up. Especially as it was starting to get quite cold on the beach. Suddenly the sky started to colour up, little bit of orange at first, then some reds and then purples. Oh! Boy. It was beginning to look really good, not something you want to miss. I was firing off photograph after photograph constantly changing my position on the beach to get different items in the foreground. Then I got a lucky break when I realised that one of the groyne markers further along the beach was now fully exposed as the tide went out. Quick dash and this is the result.

Now then. What about Angular. If you look, there are lots of angles, the way the pole is bent, the chains holding the pole upright, even the triangular marker at the top of the pole. What do you think? Does the photograph fit the brief?

13 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Angular

  1. allentimphotos2 November 25, 2014 / 9:33 pm

    I particular like this image. It is different from the norm seen for this week’s photo challenge.

    Like

    • Mike Hardisty November 26, 2014 / 3:20 pm

      I always try to put something different. Maybe it’s just the way I interpret the theme.

      Like

      • allentimphotos2 November 26, 2014 / 4:47 pm

        I think finding a new perspective is great. It’s all part of “seeing”, more than just looking. Thanks for your response.

        Like

  2. Gerry C. November 25, 2014 / 11:12 pm

    Bravo! The photo does fit the bill extremely well. You as the artist decided the overall tone of the picture and then allow your viewers to extract their individual interpretation of the image presented. Thank you for sharing.

    Like

    • Mike Hardisty November 26, 2014 / 3:16 pm

      Gerry, thanks for your comment. Sometimes I do think the WordPress themes are very loose and can almost be interpreted any which way. Stick a photograph up and it’s sure to fit the bill.

      Like

  3. Ayla November 26, 2014 / 11:05 pm

    Beautiful colours 🙂

    Like

    • Mike Hardisty November 27, 2014 / 8:39 am

      Sometimes we are lucky and Mother Nature gives us something to go wow about. That sunset left me saying WOW WOW WOW. I couldn’t stop firing the camera’s shutter as I wanted to capture every moment.

      Liked by 1 person

    • Mike Hardisty November 27, 2014 / 8:37 am

      Thank you…I don’t know of too many lighthouses that lean to one side. This one has long since been abandoned and after the winter storms last year cracks appeared on the side of it. I don’t think there’s any maintenance being done on it now as it’s in private hands. One of these days it will probably fall down.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. smkelly8 November 27, 2014 / 5:50 am

    I love the colors and the angluar groyne marker is very modern.

    Thanks for the pingback!

    Like

    • Mike Hardisty November 27, 2014 / 8:34 am

      Your welcome. It’s been a long time since I saw a sunset like that and those colours were truly amazing. I am so glad I decided to go down to the beach, I would have been kicking myself if I hadn’t, especially as it’s only 5 minutes drive away. If that…..

      Like

Over To You...

