On The Beach

Just before that amazing sunset on Tuesday I took this quick landscape photograph using just some seaweed and footprints in the sand. With the tide having just gone out the sand was quite soft still and my boots just kept sinking in.

Shadows and Highlights

I’m not complaining though because I knew I could use this to my advantage and coupled with the debris left behind by the outgoing tide I had my foreground interest, one of the key elements I try to incorporate into my landscape photographs.

I often find it useful to consider landscape images as comprising three areas, foreground, middle-ground and background. While our human perception tends to focus more on foreground details and objects in our near vicinity, the camera makes no such distinctions. Foreground rocks that the photographer could reach out and touch while at the scene are rendered with the same presence as distant clouds in the final image. When visualising, I think it pays to try to see background and foreground details with equal importance. – Pete Bridgwood

Of course dramatic clouds will always provide the second element for any photograph and coupled with a setting sun what more could you ask for. In my mind this photograph is maybe missing something from the middle but with a vast expanse of flat sandy beach in front of me I’d be hard pushed to get that third element. Maybe you could say the thin ribbon of hills and mountains provides the middle ground?  What do you think? Is the middle ground missing?

4 thoughts on “On The Beach

    • Mike Hardisty November 29, 2014 / 3:25 pm

      Kurt, I’m glad you liked it. In some ways I considered this as a throw-away shot, a quick snap whilst I was waiting for the real action. As it happens it came out better than I expected and is definitely a keeper

      Liked by 1 person

  1. denisebushphoto November 28, 2014 / 2:18 pm

    I like how the color of the seaweed echoes the color of the sunset. Very nice! 🙂

    Like

    • Mike Hardisty November 29, 2014 / 3:09 pm

      That particular seaweed is off-white in colour and so I think it has just absorbed the colours from the sunset. Thank you for taking the time to comment

      Like

Over To You...

