Weekly Photo Challenge: Yellow

As this weeks challenge is to include yellow somewhere in the photograph I thought I would get away from the doom and gloom of the miserable wet winters days we seem to have been experiencing recently. Just on the outskirts of Caerwys, as you come in from the A55, you will find several fields of bright yellow daffodils which are grown for medical purposes, probably for the extraction of galantamine from the bulbs to treat Alzheimer’s disease.

Fields of Yellow

Neat rows of bulbs stretch into the distance and provide a wonderful carpet of yellow to photograph. If you’ve never seen them before and you happen to be in the area next spring, stop off and take a photograph. You can pull into a small lay-by right on the outskirts of Caerwys, hop over a stone style and walk right into the field to get close to the daffodils, No picking though!

There are many reasons for shooting pictures, not least the adrenalin pumping moment of knowing you’re caught a marvellous instant, but it’s all a little empty if all the results end up in a little yellow box in a cupboard. – Patrick Ward

Not long after I bought the Olympus OM-D E-M1 with the 12-40mm f2.8 PRO lens I took it to the Mountain Zoo. The 12-40 being a Pro lens, although it’s not a macro is supposed to be quite good for close-up photography, so I wanted to try it out whilst I was there. Walking around the zoo I came upon these beautiful yellow flowers with a bee resting on them.

Yellow

I’m pretty happy with the results. What do you think?

Bumble Bee

On the road to Abergele from Rhudlan you will often find fields growing beautiful carpets of yellow rape seed during the summer. This one I particularly like because of the tree which breaks up the sky.

Yellow and Blue

Well I think that covers yellow for this week. For those of you who celebrate Christmas it only leaves me to wish you a Merry Christmas and to everyone I hope you have a Healthy and Happy New Year

7 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Yellow

    • Mike Hardisty December 23, 2014 / 8:15 am

      It is beautiful. I didn’t know it existed and I only live a few miles away. Found it purely by chance.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. sustainabilitea December 23, 2014 / 2:13 am

    Beautifully done yellows and great job with the bee. Merry Christmas!

    janet

    Like

Over To You...

