Weekly Photo Challenge: New

2015, New Year and I’m trying something new with Photoshop. Previously when I had the Pentax camera and the wide angle lens attached I never really had to bother about landscape panoramas, that big old 10-20mm gave me a wide enough angle. But it’s not the same with the Olympus 12-40mm f2.8 PRO lens. .

First up is this scene from the lower Ogwen Valley. The sun is low on the horizon to my left, throwing some shadows across the snow topped peaks. Personally I find this scene quite beautiful and luckily enough was able to stop on the A5 to capture this. It consists of 4 photographs stitched together using the Photomerge command in Photoshop combining 2, 3 or 4 photographs to give an ultra wide panorama. Personally I find it rather beautiful.

Ogwen Valley

Those who find beauty in a landscape do so because it touches a place of beauty already within themselves. – Courtney Milne

Further up the valley is the walk to Cwm Idwal and that’s where my second panorama photograph comes from. Well just a little bit beyond. If you walk around Cwm Idwal to the right you can then take the style across the wire fence, which allows you to climb a large rocky outcrop overlooking the upper and lower parts of the Ogwen Valley

Ogwen Valley Panorama

Once again I have taken four photographs and stitched them together using Photoshop. From the right this takes in Tryfan, Llyn Ogwen, Pen yr Ole Wen, the lower valley, where the first photograph was taken and a mountain I can never remember the name of. Help me out here?

That about wraps it up. I hope you enjoyed the panorama photographs as much as I did? Maybe you’ll consider giving it a go?

3 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: New

  1. Cindi January 8, 2015 / 12:46 pm

    I love seeing stitched-together photos. I’ve tried it (using open source alternatives, since I don’t have Photoshop) and am never pleased with the results. But it makes me appreciate what others do, and these are stunning!

    Like

  2. Mike Hardisty January 8, 2015 / 3:42 pm

    I must admit Cindi, I’m pleasantly surprised with the results from Photoshop. Like you I have tried various open source software, and had mixed results.

    Like

Over To You...

