Weekly Photo Challenge: Depth

Another week and another challenge. Yesterday we spent some time in the National Park in search of snow. There’s no doubt we certainly found it including a “hairy moment” on the old road through Nant Ffrancon. More on that later. This weeks challenge was to portray depth in some way and so I’d like to start with a photograph from Llyn Padarn, taken yesterday from that famous viewing point on the stone bridge. Talking of that bridge it seemed like anyone who had a camera was there yesterday, including a coach load of tourists. As usual they were in a hurry to get “that photograph”. No thought for anyone else. Move over and let me take one….

Llyn Padarn

At the moment the water is really clear and you can see the stones in the lake bed easily.

Don’t look for “depth” but instead search for subject aspects which prove the presence of depth. – Andreas Feininger,

I mentioned a “hairy moment” earlier and here’s what happened. Rather than take the A5 from Bethesda to Llyn Ogwen I decide with my fellow photographers to take the old road that runs up the opposite side of Nant Ffrancon from the A5. All seemed well at first. Some snow, a little bit of ice, but easily navigable, especially with 4 wheel drive and as a bonus we came across some ponies grazing right at the side of the road.

Ponies

But back to that “hairy moment” Not much further up the road rises quite steeply. Seemed OK but suddenly we were slipping. Instead of driving in snow we were now in pure ice and it was not going good.

Icy Road

To cut a long story short we did manage to make it back down, thanks to my fellow photographers guiding me until I could find a safe turning point.

That’s it for this week. I hope you enjoyed the photographs.

15 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Depth

  1. pixels4u2013 February 5, 2015 / 5:33 pm

    Hi Mike. Been doing similar in Nant Ffrancon. I note that your snow in image 3 has the same blue cast as mine did. This is a WB problem and cured it by using the “radial filter” tool in Lightroom? The tool allows you to select a specific area and adjust the WB temperature (amongst all other controls). I increased the colour temperature and got white snow! Thought I’d mention it as it was annoying me. Terrific images and not an HDR in sight 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Mike Hardisty February 5, 2015 / 5:46 pm

      Thanks Richard. The more I use the Olympus the more I realise I don’t need HDR for outside photographs. I should have corrected that snow and now you mention it it’s annoying me too

      Like

    • Mike Hardisty February 6, 2015 / 8:54 am

      Thank you for taking the time to visit and comment, Janice. I’m glad you liked the photographs

      Like

  2. La chica que vino a la vida February 5, 2015 / 8:57 pm

    Stunning…!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Eliz@MirthandMotivation February 6, 2015 / 2:28 am

    Stunning views! Amazing shots and pretty scary story. Slipping on ice in a car is a heart sinking experience. Glad you made it. Thanks for the pingbacks.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Mike Hardisty February 6, 2015 / 8:57 am

      You’re welcome. It was a bit scary but we made it, just glad I wasn’t on my own.

      Like

  4. Woolly Muses February 6, 2015 / 2:58 am

    Just love the Reflection photo and I cannot imagine what the weather would be like in the latter two…cold I guess. Have only ever seen snow once or twice in my life. 1980 something it snowed real snow in Central Victoria, but was only cold and wet down south. And in 1976, there was ice snow on top of the Rocky Mountains near Banff or Jasper, on a mountain 7400 feet altitude. The trivia that sticks in one’s mind?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Mike Hardisty February 6, 2015 / 8:42 am

      Surprisingly enough with no wind it wasn’t so cold. Later in the day the sun broke through the clouds and it became quite mild. That’s how we end up with the icy roads. The sun melts the snow but overnight it freezes. Next day if the sun doesn’t appear, treacherous road conditions, especially if we have another fall of snow on top. We took a chance and it didn’t pay off so we had to turn back

      Like

  5. Moon February 6, 2015 / 2:13 pm

    Breathtaking photos! Loved them all 🙂

    Like

  6. Rich Proctor February 7, 2015 / 8:06 pm

    Sounds like an adventure. And beautiful photos to boot. Worth a hairy moment or two I think.

    Like

    • Mike Hardisty February 9, 2015 / 10:28 am

      I didn’t think so at the time Rich, but must admit we did get some good photographs

      Liked by 1 person

Over To You...

